top of page

My donut adventures!

A doughy review of Ottawa you donut want to miss.

I have a love for donuts that does not quite match my love of running or racewalking - but I do quite enjoy the sweet round beasties!


So yes, that is me face down in a box of Mrs Dunsters donuts form the east coast of Canada - probably...maybe my favourite donut, or is it doughnut?


I think I have always like donuts (I will use this spelling) since I was a kid, when my dad would come home from work in the city of Halifax, NS and bring (occasionally) a big box of Tim Hortons donuts. Ahh the memories! I had six other siblings so there was always a fight to peer at the sugary or chocolatey treats up for grabs. I loved the ole walnut crunch when I could get my hands on one!


So the donut addiction started early. The powdered sugar and tastes had me hooked.

I have even run a Donut 5k (above) and won while jamming donuts into my face on the way (probably not the safest).


So I will now do a rating and opinion of the donut destinations in the Ottawa area. Many I have found on donut adventures with my partner - where we drive to donut shop, do a run and then pick up donuts. The donuts are like a reward.


Tim Hortons

Everywhere

These guys are everywhere. If you cannot find a Tims in Canada you may be lost. I think they were better 20-30 years ago. They still have coffee and donuts are are reliable but some of the classics and favourites like the walnut crunch, honey stick and cherry stick are no longer made.

Summary - reliable and better than that US Dunkin Donuts chain, but donut quality and selection has gone down.

Favourite: The walnut crunch they used to make. Boston cream or sour cream glazed are also good.


Mrs Dunsters

Based in New Brunswick

Can't start a review of donuts without mentioning my favourite that you can now ship in from New Brunswick! Mrs Dunsters makes some damn good donuts! For me it has to be the wholewheat donut that really gets me though. As insane as it sounds I can eat an entire bag in a sitting (not recommended lol). They are solid, heavy and coated with granulated sugar and cinnamon.

Summary - worth ordering online in my opinion (they made this possible because so many east coasters cannot get them outside the Maritimes). Not fancy, just darn good. Don't be an arse and try one!

So now its time to comment on the two main donut rivals in Ottawa!

1015 Wellington Street West

A few locations in Ottawa now (3) but I first bit into their donuts at their first location just outside downtown. I remember the first bite of the Maple bacon donut. Mmm. The donuts are mainly the same base (softer style donut)(like what you would get for any glazed donut) but with cool and unique toppings! The donuts are fresh, tasty and they have a fun selection of flavours. Worth a trip :)

I do like their Maple Bacon donut!


46 Byward Market Square

This is the second independent donut shop (now a bunch spreading out from original shop in downtown Ottawa). I consider them the main competitors to SuzyQ. For donut lovers, this shop offers another great ring of sugar option. The donuts are heavier and instead of the same base with different toppings - each donut is a unique flavour and composition and with different toppings. Another great shop that is popping up in more and more new locations (us Canucks like our baked sweet hockey pucks!). So if you like a heavier - unique donut - find a Maverick's spot.

I really like their apple fritter - but they have some unique ones too like Oreo and others!



2208 St. Joseph Blvd. Unit 112

This new donut shop (new to me in 2023) opened up not far from me in Orleans (east end of Ottawa) but I have yet to get down to try out their donuts - so this section may be updated soon! The donuts are expensive ($5.80 a donut) and look like cronuts (the famous donut/croissant cross-breed) and can only be ordered in batches (no single sales). They have some interesting sounding flavours like "Peanut Butter Munchkin"!


2533 Bank St.

This is another spot I have not visited as they seem to be know more for timbit sized donuts in a box with different sauces or sugar on them. I see on their website they seem to have full-fledged donuts so I may have to go back to investigate.



Just outside Ottawa


Cafe Dough Co. (Gatineau)

219 Boul des Grives

This Quebec-based beigne baker is just across the river in Gatineau. This could be a post Gatineau park treat as it is not that far away from the National Park. It is a mix of SuzyQ and Mavericks as it has a variety of donuts (not just one style of donut). I was out on a donut finding adventure and this was a nice find. You will have to go Google and go out of your way to find this if you are not familiar with Gatineau. I cannot remember my favourite donut there but they had some really cool, unique flavours when I went. Vive la beigne!


This donut shop was a fun find in Almonte, Ontario (not that far from Ottawa - tucked away on a side road! It has not website but has a Facebook page. My partner and I were out for an adventure and had a good run around the small canal town and then got a box of donuts (I still have the box). We even met the owner and had a talk about his donuts. he uses a unique process and has a good selection of unique donuts with cool toppings. It is definitely worth a trip out and the town is nice for a walk or run!


Jarbeezys doughnuts (Smith Falls)

Had an adventure in Smith Falls and ran around the small town (nice) - but never got to try these donuts. I was in contact with the owner and they are an on-demand (order) based business. The donuts (pictures) looked good and this is still on my list of donuts to track down!

*They also have doughnut bites (Timbits or doughnut holes).


Mimi's donuts (Manotick)

1088 Bridge St.

The discovery of this little shop (size of a shed or small trailer is in the middle of town on the corner - where you can pull in and grab a box of donuts, I got a run in and then a box of donuts. Good selection and they were all tasty! Its not Tim Hortons and donuts are $4-5 but are worth it! Another small town outside of Ottawa that can be a fun day trip to explore and eat donuts after :)


17 Wilson St. E Perth

I have no idea how I have missed this donut shop!

It is on my list the investigate. There is a legendary road race in Perth in the summer that I like to do and I am surprised I have not stumbled across this shop!

They look like they have a cool selection of donuts at decent prices.




Honourable mention


Grandad's (Hamilton, ON)

574 James Street N

So why include this donut shop outside the Toronto area? Remember the walnut crunch that Tim's brough back briefly this year (2023)? A classic they got rid of? Well this cool shop has all the old classics many remember form the 1980-90s. I actually ordered a box of walnut crunch to be shipped out and delivered because I felt crazy one day! They have donuts such as the orange twist, walnut crunch, dutchie, sugar twist, danish and more!


Sort of donuts?


3890 Innes Road

Okay so they do not really have donuts but they do have tiny bits of donut hole sized dough you can cover in different toppings. Went there once with the kids and you can watch them drop the dough into cook. Fun. My favourite no - as not a donut place - but not bad :)





This is a post that I intend to update as I find shops I have missed, that people tell me about or that pop up! Happy donuting!





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page